Councils & Commissions


Pastoral Council

Serving as advisors to the Parochial Administrator, the Pastoral Council is the group of parishioners who work on visioning for the future of the parish and long term planning for St. John XXIII Parish. The members of the Council are:
Greg Bales, Merle Davis, Bill Fleming, John Griesmayer, Jean Heinz, Mary Miller, Renny Rohde, Larry Schmitz, Marlene Searles, Mary Pat Siler and Stephanie Zelinko.

Finance Council

The Finance Council is composed of people who have some background in finances and see to the allocating of parish funds in a way that promotes the Mission of the Church, working within the vision set by the Parochial Administrator and the Pastoral Council. The members of the Finance Council are:
Norma Brown, Bill Fleming, Mike Manzoni, Russ Milan, Jerry Rohde, and Larry Schmitz.


Worship Commission

The Worship Commission regularly meets to discuss the worshiping needs of the parish. This group of parishioners are formed in the Church’s teaching concerning liturgy and worship and thus prepare the Rites of the Church as well as the training of liturgical ministers. These people are an integral part of the liturgical life of St. John XXIII Parish. The members of the Worship Commission are:
Mary Castellanos, Robin Doan, Janice Doane, Dianne Fleming, Liz Loyselle,
Colleen Miller, Leona Osbourne, Bob Rivard, Fran Rohrer, Celia Searles, and
Mary Pat Siler.

Christian Service Commission

Outreach to those in need is a basic mandate given to us by Jesus Christ himself. Our Christian Service Commission works with the parish resources, both financial as well as human and physical, to serve the needs of the poor, the hungry, the homeless, the sick, and those with genuine needs. Under the umbrella of the Christian Service Commission are all issues that concerning the right to life and religious liberty and freedom. Therefore you may see the members of this commission raising funds for Right to Life of Michigan or presenting the Church’s stance on abortion or euthanasia issues as well. The members of the Christian Service Commission are:
Linda Feith, John Griesmayer, Jean Heinz, Kathy Hutchinson, Alice Kraniak,
Jeanne Mayan, Cathy Wheeler.

Education/Faith Formation Commission

The Faith Formation Commission assists, promotes and supports parishioners in understanding that the entire parish community has responsibilities for participating in the evangelization and teaching mission of Jesus entrusted to the Church. The Commission’s responsibilities, in cooperation with Diocese and parish staff members, include developing, promoting and evaluating programs that address all aspects of education and faith formation.
Within the structure of the Commission, many committees are at work addressing the major areas that include:

Adult Faith Formation
Family and Children Faith Formation
Family Life
Youth Ministry
Young Adult Ministry

Members of the Education/Faith Formation Commission are:
Dianne & Larry Fleming, Bill Harrison, Judy Horny, Louann Larson, Russ Milan, Mary Miller, Beth Rohde, Wally Rohn, Fran Rohrer, John Searles, Gina Tolfree, Jacque Vican, and Cathy Wheeler.

Stewardship and Evangelization Commission

As St. John XXIII parish is formed, a new commission will be put together with members from the parish who will form the ways that the parish will address stewardship, from the standpoint that we owe back to God for what God has given us, whether through the sharing of finances, or other resources. Another major work of this commission-to-be will be to address the parish efforts of the New Evangelization and reaching out to those who are not practicing their Catholic Faith or to those who do not yet know God. If you would like to serve on this commission, please contact the parish office.